Coding in Javascript Rants

This is going to be of a rant.

Learning a programming language is going to be hard. It is not that I can’t learn it. When I studied the materials on the fundamentals of Javascript such as functions, conditional flow, objects and arrays–I understood how it works. What threw me off is learning how to write it from scratch that points to logical steps by steps. Basically, I needed to learn how to think like a developer, telling the “dumb” computer what it is I wanted it to do by providing the rigid instructions.

That was the wall I hit.

And that is the wall I needed to knock it down.

And I will knock it down.

When I coded in javascript for the first time yesterday–I kept knocking down that wall little by little and my brain slowly made the connection, dot by dot, on learning how to think like a developer. That is pretty much how I felt–but I knew it would take time to truly understand the language to where I can manipulate the codes freely without being a bit scared of whether it works or not–or if I’m writing the code correctly.

HTML and CSS are my comfort zone and it is time for me to step out of it and move on with javascript. So, I better fail quick and learn quick (as my instructors told us).

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

