Work that Flexbox!

The last few days we’ve been working with CSS coding and learned the art of FlexBoxing the webpage. I will have to get this off my chest:

Flexbox is not my to go to coding for web design.

Perhaps I will use it strictly for navigation bar or perhaps an image gallery (although I think that can get complex really, really fast). As far as I understand–this new method of creating a layout of the webpage is new and will have some glitches here and there. Perhaps in time, the developers who designed Flexbox will improve its usability or it may be done away.

However, I am extremely happy with the outcome of my  first weekly project that definitely contained the use of Flexbox. I had to create a webpage base on the mockup that the instructors provided for us. While in the middle a fight with flexbox layout, I somehow stumbled and realized I had the images accurately ratio-sized and at the height I was attempting for to replicate the way the mockup was designed. I had to go back and re-read what I just did until I understood what I did. It was a thrilling moment to have when I had the “ah-ah” moment after some serious coding (especially when I did a complete redo of the weekly project!).

I do admit that Flexbox was a fun challenge and it was also great to learn a new way to style a webpage. While I haven’t learned the Grid layout–I think I just may prefer that over the Flexbox

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

